top of page

Harry Duley

Updated: Mar 20, 2019

Expanding on InDesign and Type.


We started by analysing and critiquing the posters we had printed out and stuck on the wall, discussing what poster we preferred and why, why certain posters worked better than others. The posters that were preferred looked like they was constructed using Jan Tschichold's faithful gridding system.


Steve then spoke about the importance of typography, kerning/tracking, hierarchy, and grids. We was introduced to The Kerning Game, a game in which you had to place the letters from different fonts into the correct position, I managed to get a humble 92% (which i did not boast about).


We was put on using specific weight and kerning to create a hierarchy between two columns on InDesign. The task was to follow some instructions using only a certain amount of weight and sizes in one font, following a grid and a set of rules: use only one typeface, up to three weights, text must be black, and you cannot distort the text. I learned the importance of macro and micro.


We was provided work by Harry Duley, Text and Photography to be made into a unique brochure to promote the work. The images provided were to promote a new material for yoga, i decided to use them in an obscure way to create a system of working around the body. Using Macro and micro in a grid system, I masked my images so I could create a text wrap around the yoga photography to create a flexible type that expands and curves like the material, whilst also trying to keep it in my grid system.

This was the first Harry Duley Brochure i made:



I received feedback stating that i needed to work on my micro, so I went through and fine tuned my grid system to improve on this and here my final piece of work:



I enjoyed messing around with the headings, cropping and sizing the photos to suit the text. I am happy with my outcome and how i used the images and text to represent each other.

Comments


bottom of page