top of page

Branding

Updated: Mar 22, 2019


Putting my pen to paper, working out my user journey and experience with my website, i had a conversation with Steve about the use of a Treasure Hunt, using clues to find a promotional code in Bermondsey via qr code. I looked into how escape rooms are designed and how i would incorporate this into an app/website. I also looked at how the maps are designed from my beloved gamer days playing Assassins Creed, finding treasure maps and clues. I looked deeper into this idea, but the more i dug the more i complicated myself.


SLIDESHOW.


I set a task to simplify my idea. I looked into artists who do symbols, shapes and patterns, such as Rob Lowe and Camille Wallala. I also looked at www.thisiskiosk.com and www.itsashapechristmas.com, which gave me an idea. The way itsashapechristmas created their calendar, using a hidden concept felt like unveiling a piece of treasure. Combining symbols, boxes and a Camille Wallala style of artwork I wanted to make my work an intelligent, functional, artisan, hidden treasure hunt.






Using the personality of Bermondsey, i wanted to make my website unveil little cool details through user experience, so you have to search through the website to find new things.


Upon creating my homepage i chose 2 main colours to work with and created 2 main symbols to represent different parts of Bermondsey. I used an arch symbol to represent the hidden spots and a triangle shard shape to represent the tourist/ more popular known spots around the area.



I wanted to input a logo into my homepage, but none of the creations i had made worked in this format. I designed 4 different logos, most looked like churches. I removed the shard and simplified my logo to just represent the arches. Speaking to Abi we decided that a quote was needed to further showcase that it was a Bermondsey based website and that the concept is hidden, the quote we came up with is "It's the hidden things that make Bermondsey special."



I went on to creating a hidden page of arches, so you have to go through the arches to find the hidden treasures. Leading on from an arch I took a place in Bermondsey called 'Hivers Taproom' and started my Camille Wallala inspiration, using boxes, symbols and colour to give hints and clues to the user to work out the spot they have found.



I used a simple wire frame to make my idea work across 3 platforms. I designed these pages on desktop tablet and phone.



Comentarios


bottom of page