top of page

Typography

Updated: Dec 14, 2018



We started off with some typography work to add to our Ikon branding. Learning about the differences between serif, sans serif and how different fonts depict different meanings. We went on to some practise in hand drawing simple everyday typography.



Looking into my brand, I have been searching for a name of a show to go with my icon imagery. I have chosen the name 'Ukudansa', the South African Zulu word for dance. The reason i chose this word is because it links to my original idea of my partner, the experience of volunteering in South Africa and contemporary dance.


I tried many different styles of fonts. I tried out polygon style fonts to represent the show.



Putting my designs with my designs together within illustrator, I decided the block letters i chose made my design look more like a game and was not the elegance i was looking for. I then searched, found and developed this more ballet-esc curvaceous font to make the contrast of strong shapes to elegant movement, much like the representation of the colours red and blue i am using, also to represent the strength and elegance of my partner.


댓글


bottom of page