top of page

Finding my lane.

Updated: Jun 14, 2019

I have made the decision to look into more exercise and work out ads.




After discussing with Xavi, we came to the conclusion that making squash sexy was the strongest and most visual route to go down. He suggested I made a video to showcase what it could look like and I find some good copy.


I set off to find my type and copy.

I was quite content with the copy "Wanna play?" but was recommended by both Xavi and Steve Lloyd that i need words leading up to that to then reveal that it is squash.


I wrote down a list of positives about squash.

Cardiorespiratory endurance

Muscular strength

Flexibility

Muscular endurance

Calories burned

Low risk of injury.

Sweat more than your average workout

Lose 600-1000 calories an hour

Stress Relief


Out of these positive things i wanted to pick 4 strong words that could also have a similarity with sex.

I chose:

Flexibility

Endurance

Sweat

Relieve


Looking at type I decided to look at curvy fonts that may be seen on sexy ads.


I didn't feel like any of these typefaces was working.

I decided to get some references from other sport ads such as gym and Nike ads as i was going for the exercise route.


One thing all these sport and gym ads have in common is a similar visual language. A bold white San Serif Font contrasted on a darker or black and white image.


After talking to Steve Stacey he suggested I take a look at 2xElliotts work for a dating app called FEELD. 2xElliott created these elegant photos which made you feel curious, like you want to discover the app further. By having parts of the type missing and by not showing full bodies or gender and using certain colours to create this seductive visual language.





Using a San Serif Font called AkzidenzGrotesk I squashed it together, made it the colour red to resemble the visual language of squash, stacked it up as if it was 2 bodies on top of each other and cut out curvaceous body shapes out of the font to make it more mischievious and feel as if something is missing.

Combining this with the visual language of Haagen Dazs 3 lines, i decided to use the 3 red lines in squash as they are the most recognisable part of the sport.



I then looked at multiple images for each of my words to contrast in black against the red writing.


After discussing i decided i also like the copy Wanna Squash? Which would mean i wouldn't use the last poster in the campaign.

I decided that this campaign could change once a day throughout the week, in tube stations, outside universities, outside leisure centres, places that people visit everyday.


Upon designing the Logo for Squash. it came simple to me. I did not want to overcomplicate it. I used the same type and colour, incorporating a bat as a Q and a full stop as Ball.





I decided not to move forward with the interactive gym and started making an app.

???? :s

I thought the idea could be to show where the local squash gyms are and how many times you visit, how many people are in their at the moment etc.



Upon doing this i thought of the idea of a squash gym. A gym dedicated to Squash, as an app doesn't solve the problem of not having anywhere to play.


This Gym could be placed in up and coming areas with a high percentage of young people.






コメント


bottom of page