top of page

The First Pitch

Insight: Squash is The Best Exercise.

Before pitching to Brian I thought I would build my pitch with everything I felt was important to building the brand indentity i have created. We had 10 minutes to pitch, which i felt was quite a long time.





I wanted to start by explaining the brief in a sentence and stating my 6 words to describe the brief.

Then introduce my sport and some information on my Squash.

To show what squash is perceived as I decided to add this slide, that squash reminds us of over 50's office workers playing the sport.

Positives and Negatives of the sport play a big part in my presentation as it shows the understanding and perception of the sport and shows the problems that need to be solved.

Target Audience.

Showcases data to back up the evidence that Squash is the best workout

This is the visual language that relates to brands such as Nike. It represents sports and training, the same visual language is seen in other sport and gym posters below.


I wanted to show the visual language that stands out for squash, which is these 3 lines and the colour red.

Looking back at my 4 key words and how i can use them.

If i put the key words together and turn them red adding the best workout it begins to create a sexual reference but without the imagery.

Adding the sexual imagery to the background creates this tone of voice which contrasts with the type.

Now i wanted to show my idea.

Using Haagen Dazs as a reference to show that this type of advertisement works.

Showcasing all my types of copy. After discussing with classmates i decided to change Wanna Play to Wanna Squash as they felt that was something they would find funny on social media.

Showcasing how i made my type, squashing it together and changing the text.

2xElliott as a reference as this helped me get to my next step.


I wanted to show that i used body shapes to cut out the curves in my type.

Adding the three lines to create the identity.

A moodboard of the black and white photography style i have chose, to show how i developed from the type.

And how a finished product could look.


I wanted to look back at my target audience when deciding where this could be advertised, thinking about places they would visit everyday.

Then showing how the campaign will run.

And then one by one i showed how the campaign would look visually each day slowly revealing squash.

I then wanted to show where the brand identity could move on to

Looking back at the problems we had, the second problem was that it is inaccessible.

Showing a mock up of the logo on the building to show how the squash gym could look

How it could look from the inside.

And finally finished with the video, which I over rided in my saves!!! so i will show the final video in my final pitch blog.

Finally thanking for the opportunity to pitch the brief.


Overall I enjoyed pitching to Brian and Steve. We was filmed so i am interested in seeing that footage back at some point. 10 minutes went quicker than i expected I think i carried over 10 minutes for about another 1 minute.


The feedback i received was positive and constructive and this is the feedback i received:


Group 17 Sam Hamilton

Suggest you are turning a negative into a positive. Sweat to  live. Sweat is good (visuals say sweat is sexy) / Sweat / “life” / sexuality

Positive and negatives are a big list that needs a few points highlighting.

Nike ads are famous. So don’t need to show loads. Rather to show Nike as “the new norm”. We are gonna go further.

Female cutout not great - use an elegant image.

A map of your and Zack’s houses with the Woolwich court would be a great way of demonstrating your pint.

Suggest: click to a squash court, click to 3 lines and red, click - Squosh court opaque.

Creative journey good. 2xelliot nice reference

Nicely thought through deck.

Slow reveal works in print? Maybe digital social media.

Not sure about “Wanna Squosh”

Not sure about "Squosh gym”

Well done.

Girls being a bit shit in your video needs replacing.


I completely agree with this feedback and i am going to touch on these points when preparing for the final pitch.

Comments


bottom of page