top of page

Presentation

Pulling all of my ideas into a presentation trying to discover how my insights could look and what ideas I could come up with.


It's been voted the healthiest sport to play by Forbes magazine based on cardiorespiratory endurance, muscular strength, flexibility, muscular endurance, calories burned, and risk of injury.

1. The Average person sweats up to 1.5litres more per hour playing squash.

Are you really exercising if you are not sweating?


I started by looking at how sweat is portrayed in other advertisements.

I decided to look into memes, such as many other brands use memes like Gucci to promote throughout social media and found a few popular sweating memes.

Adverts using sweat:






I thought about music, how many songs use the word sweat in.

Looking for some sweat photography i liked this visual language of black and white photography. I come up with some copy that i thought could work with those images as they were quite sexual.

Trying to see how i could picture them with different type on billboards.

I discussed with Derek about measurements, so i decided to look into vials and bottles of water full of sweat.


I decided to look at other ways to get the point across about squash being a healthy exercise and i thought about motivational images on social media.

Bikram Yoga. Known for sweating sweating buckets come up with a campaign with a nice visual language and playful tone of voice.

I wondered if i could use this style of image and portray it with squash.

Looking more into Squash being very good for cardio respiratory health.

I thought shocking images of poor hearts and lungs and contrasting them with a copy to do with squash, much like smoking does but without the contrast.


2. Sqaush is an upper/middle class dominated sport.

How can I urbanise the sport?


Reyna Pacheco, who was born in Tijuana, Mexico grew up broke and in one of the toughest hoods in San Diego, at 13. The 21 year old earned a full scholarship to Columbia University through squash and now plays the sport professionally.


“I don’t take for granted where I’m at right now and the opportunities that I’ve had, because I don’t think that it’s for lack of trying that minorities don’t make it, It’s lack of opportunity.”

Reyna Pacheco.

Looking into Urban squash, all I could find was a 'not-so' urban squash in America and Canada.

There are not many outdoor courts, especially ones of this quality, they also barely get used.

Only 4 squash courts in my local area.

All in one leisure centre, with high booking demand.

Squash reminds me of pat ball. Can squash be played on a single wall?

How do i get squash played in local estates street cages?

Can squash be painted on a wall like a football goal?

If squash looked better would it be more appealing to urban youth?


Can Graffiti be combined with squash to create an Art of Ping Pong style for squash?


I'm not sure the graffiti works, how else could i get urban youth into squash?

I thought of a squash starter kit. Using tape to make the lines of squash wherever you please.

Could i use patterned tape, maybe combine graffiti with squash?


Some adverts of urban sports i like with good copy.

Nike Just do it China did this advert of people playing all sports in the street, squash was not one of them.

Another way squash could be made accessible is by building a goals style place dedicated to squash, creating leagues and more.

Squash was invented in1830

3. It is still not a highly viewed spectator sport.

How could squash be modernised?


Looking at making squash modernised or futuristic, i decided to look further into my cube idea and how that could look. Focusing on colours and references.





Lacoste - Futuristic Tennis Game in 2083

I love the visual language Lacoste used in this ad to promote their tennis line.

Can i create Squash in 2083?

Looking at this ad made me realise that

4. Squash is not fashionable!

Looking at the clothing in magazine ads and how squash is portrayed.


The comparison of squash kits and the most popular sporting football kits, squash is much more unnattractive.

The Nigeria kit, designed by Nike was a great ad which reached out to all urban youth. Could i design a clothing line for squash to promote to different demographic.


Looking at the ingenious yet useless inventions by Chindogu, i wondered if i could create r ingenious yet useless inventions for problems on the squash court.


We then had to present these ideas to Derek and Steve Stacey to help us narrow down our insight to 1.


I got some good positive feedback and was told that my strongest insight revolved around sweat. We also discussed the problem of there being nowhere to play and that i could possibly look into interactive gyms such as the Adidas Lab.



Comments


bottom of page