top of page

First Posts

Updated: Nov 6, 2019

Preparing for my first post.


After brainstorming and researching for my Arancini Instagram I decided it was best to start simple and try to build a small following. From my research i discovered images with the inside of the arancini to be popular.


My Though Process:


If i start with something that people won't being able to connect with straight away, then the reaction i get will be minimal. After talking to many people about arancini, it seemed that less people knew what arancini was than knew it.


Idea:

Food Photography

Revealing the inside of Arancini by sliding to the next image.





Some of the best food instagrams i have found that involve food photography are.

AranGoyoaga (@cannellevanille)

Michelle Tam(@nomnompaleo)

Brittany Wright (@wrightkitchen)

Tamara Peterson (@_tamarapeterson)

Julie Lee (@julieskitchen)


Sticking to the theme.


The theme i decided to go with was white and bold colour plates and bowls to make it look like it was Sicilian themed.

Now all i needed was some Arancini.

I trialed and tested Arancini but the best place was Etnacoffee, so far Etnacoffee is my champion of arancini in London.


My first post i kept simple, with a post from etnacoffee, tagging them in it and trialing hashtags from researching the best food hashtags for instagram 2019 and adding in italy as a location and tagging in some arancini based hashtags.

I got a decent amount of reaction from this post.




I decided to introduce the arancini in my caption to try and promote it to people who are unaware of the food. I also added Swipe to see what's inside the Arancini as a call to action.


Looking at how brands converse on Social, i realised story gets a lot more engagement, so i trialed posting an image and letting people know i have posted a new image on the story, to try and push people to my feed.


I then set up a photography space using canvas boards and the bowls and plates i purchased. I ordered Arancini and dressed it up.




I decided to set up a quiz to get people to interact with the story. The story quiz didn't get as much engagement as the new post story.


I then realised that breaking photographing and breaking Arancini open all the time will be cost effective, i decided to use other images to lay out the colour palette of my Instagram page, going from orange and woody to bright white and colourful. The next post i used was another from Etnacoffee. I photographed the full tray of arancini they prepared and added another swipe image.



I got another good reaction out of this post. Still using information in the caption about Arancini as i am building the story for people to understand what arancini is.



I wanted to try and get some comments and provoke a reaction. My idea was to provoke pizza lovers. Using pizza lover hashtags and stating arancini is better than pizza would hopefully provoke this. I managed to get more comments but none about the statement.


I then did some more research about what is getting most views in Arancini and decided to trial some videos, breaking open the Arancini to reveal what is inside.




Each post i have done so far was in the same time bracket. 12:30 - 1.30 a time for people to take a break and have some lunch.

The engagement on this video was not as strong as the images, but the video was not as satisfying as some I had seen on instagram.



Posting at the same time i decided to trial a single Arancini photography post, with no swipe. It got good engagement and a lot more comments than other. I think the simplicity of the image worked in that favour.


I then decided I wanted to achieve more engagement and started a daily instagram story post called Cinioftheday.

I trialled this and got great engagement on the story.


This Story got over 200 views and i felt was a good way to interact with food instagram influencers that have posted Arancini, to compliment their cheffing.


I then went on to making my own Arancini over the weekend. Posting images of fresh out of the pot Arancini and dressed up with some sauce. I made some videos of breaking the Arancini open but i did not feel they was satisfying enough.



The engagement on these single posts was less than any i had put out so far.

I put it out at the same time on a Saturday and Sunday, but over the weekend the engagement i received was a lot lower.


Gastro Obscurer




Commenti


bottom of page